Friday, June 29, 2018

Writing Contests in Canada, USA, UK, and NZ


No entry fees!  Attractive prizes and glory for the lucky winners in these contests, plus lots of writing motivation.  Up to $60,000 prize money!  But hurry: contest deadlines will vary from July to September 2018.  And as always, carefully read the submission guidelines. 

Frieze Writers' Prize
Prize: GBP£2,000
Essay: Art Criticism.  Aspiring art critics are invited to submit one unpublished review of a recent contemporary art exhibition, which should be 700 words in length.  The winner will be commissioned to write a review for frieze magazine and will be awarded GBP£2,000.
Deadline: July 16, 2018.
Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize
Prize: $25,000
Fiction. Restrictions: Titles must be published in Canada and written by Canadians. No self-published works. $25,000 will be awarded to a novel or short-story collection published between May 16, 2018, and September 30, 2018.  Prizes of $2,500 will be awarded to each of the finalists.
Deadline: July 18, 2018.
Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction 
Prize: $60,000; Finalists: $5,000.
Restrictions: Books must be English-language, first-edition trade books published by a Canadian press, written by Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. Titles must be published between May 16, 2018, and September 30, 2018.  Genre: Literary nonfiction including, among other forms, works of personal or journalistic essays, memoirs, commentary, criticism both social and political, history, and biography.  Prize for the Winner: $60,000; Finalists: $5,000.
Deadline: July 18, 2018.
The Margaret and Reg Turnill Competition
Prize: £1,000
Restrictions: Writers must be 21 or under on July 23. (Those over 21 can enter for a fee.) Short story on the theme of "Peace." Length: 1,500 to 5,000 words. Prize: £1,000 and publication in the annual HG Wells Short Story Competition Anthology. 
Deadline: July 23, 2018.
Story of the Year Contest
Prizes vary by genre from $2,000 to $5,000
Short stories/nonfiction/novellas between 1000-15,000 words.  There are three prize categories and three grand prizes: Diversity Award ($3,000), Texas Award ($5,000 limited to Texans), and Character Award ($2,000).
Deadline: July 27, 2018.
Landfall Essay Competition
Prize NZ$3,000
Open to New Zealand writers.  An essay about New Zealand.  The winner will receive $3,000 and a year’s subscription to Landfall.
Deadline: July 31, 2018.

Prize: $50,000
The Writers’ Trust Fellowship annually awards one writer $50,000 for demonstrating exceptional creative ability and outstanding promise in their publications to date.  The Fellowship intends to free writers substantially from financial concerns and provide a window in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible.  Canadian citizens or permanent residents writing in English are eligible.
Deadline: early March of each year.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.